Nursery

I am so happy with the way that our nursery has turned out. I think it’s my favourite room in the house! The gender-neutral Peter Rabbit theme has worked wonderfully and although I did wonder whether it wouldn’t be easier to have a pink or blue room, I love the fact that this nursery is a bit different, and the yellow and green makes it sunny and light.

The furniture is also very special. Other than the cot, we didn’t buy any new furniture. The Morris nursing chair was my grandmother’s mother’s chair and has been passed down through the generations. It reclines backwards and is so comfortable. I had the cushions recovered to match the blind and can imagine spending many long but hopefully happy hours in it in the months ahead. The wardrobe is also a family heirloom – it was Matthew’s granny’s granny’s wardrobe, brought over on a ship from Holland, and it still has the original list of contents that it contained on the voyage across the sea!

Matthew made the shelves and changing table and the little bedside table to fit in with the rest of the room and I think they look great. The baskets were just from Mr Price, but again I am very happy with them.

Finally, my mom made the beautiful bassinet to go in our bedroom until the baby is old enough to sleep in his or her own room.

We have such a lucky and blessed baby already.

20130701-125606.jpg

The view from the door. I’ll work on taking a better (lighter) picture with my proper camera later. I ordered the Peter Rabbit wall decals from the internet, and the famous Peter Rabbig quilt is sitting ready in the cot!

20130701-125624.jpg

Great granny’s morris chair…

20130701-125640.jpg

Matthew’s granny’s granny’s wardrobe…

20130701-125651.jpg

The changing table with baskets.

20130701-125702.jpg

Beautiful crib, made by my mom.

This entry was posted in Baby and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment